CENTEX ASPA Public Conducts Public Service Recognition Week Awards Luncheon on May 20, 2023

By: Dr. Howard R. Balanoff
Revised 5/29/2023.

CENTEX ASPA conducted an in-person Awards Luncheon in honor of Public Service Recognition Week on Saturday May 20th at Palmer’s Restaurant in San Marcos, Texas. The CENTEX Luncheon was the first in-person event held by the CENTEX ASPA Chapter since the COVID pandemic began in March 2020.

Awards were presented to practitioners, alumni, and students at Texas State University’s Master of Public Administration (MPA Program), Texas A&M University’s George Bush School of Government and Public Service and the University of Texas LBJ School of Public Affairs.

The CENTEX ASPA Public Service Recognition Week Awards Luncheon was sponsored by Texas State University’s William P. Hobby Center for Public Service. Participating academic programs from area universities included Texas A&M University’s Bush School of Government and Public Service, the University of Texas LBJ School of Public Affairs and Texas State University’s Master of Public Administration (MPA) Program.

The Luncheon program began at about 11:30 am with a meet and greet reception which was followed by a plated lunch for about 50 attendees. The awards program ended about 1:30 pm and was followed by a brief meeting of CENTEX ASPA Officers and Governing Board Members to discuss selection of program events and activities for 2023/2024 calendar years.

The featured speaker at the Awards Program was Alan Bojorquez, Attorney and CEO of the Bojorquez Law Firm. The title of his presentation was “Ethics and Public Administration at Democracy’s Junction”. A Distinguished Alumnus Award was presented by Texas State University MPA Director, Dr. Nandhini Rangarajan to Stephanie Reyes, City Manager of San Marcos, Texas. Dr. Tom Longoria, Texas State MPA faculty member presented a Distinguished Alumnus award to the Honorable Larry Gonzales, former member of the Texas House of Representatives.

Dr. Rangarajan presented the McGrew Research Award to MPA students Kaylee Boggan and Ryan Levine. Dr. Lori Taylor, from Texas A&M presented McGrew Research Awards to Bush School faculty Dr. Deborah Kerr and Dr. Robbie Robichau for their students Capstone Projects and Dr. Ken Matwiczak fromthe University of Texas presented a McGrew Research Award to Dr. David Eaton from the LBJ School for his students Policy Research Project.

Students from the Texas State University MPA Program and Texas A&M’s Bush School were recognized for being inducted into Pi Alpha Alpha, the Global Honor Society for Public Affairs and Administration. In addition, Texas State University’s MPA Program recognized students receiving William P. Hobby Scholarships for the 2023/2024 academic years.​

If you have any questions or need any additional information about CENTEX ASPA activities and programs, please contact Dr. Howard Balanoff, hb02@txstate.edu the CENTEX ASPA Special Projects Coordinator.

See Award Recipients Below
Click here for the Awards Luncheon Program Schedule

Public Service Recognition Week Award Recipients